Just got a 92 SC. Mechanical questions inside. - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2011, 01:29 AM Thread Starter

Just got a 92 SC. Mechanical questions inside.

I just picked up a 1992 Super Coupe 5 speed. It's in rough shape, but nothing that I can't fix with a bit of help from here. I am a mechanic and I can tackle any job, but I am not skilled with superchargers or transmissions.

The supercharger was bypassed, spinning by hand reveals metallic noises from inside, so I am guessing that it needs a rebuild. What is involved in rebuilding it? I have seen a rebuild kit for the M90 on ebay, but I am wary of most stuff on ebay. The kit contains bearings and seals. Any chance that it will fix my issue, or should I be on the prowl for a junkyard charger?

Secondly, the 2nd and 3rd gear syncros are toast in the transmission. I have searched and I can't seem to find a rebuild kit for it, any suggestions on where to look for one? I have found plenty of them for F150's, but reading the guide here shows that only a few of the parts work for the SC tranny.

Lastly, I have a nice little knock coming from the motor, but it damn sure doesn't sound like a rod to me, plus I found a log book in the car that showed a rebuild on the engine 20K ago. Anything specific to look for aside from the usual suspects of lifters, rocker arms and rods?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2011, 03:12 AM

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2011, 10:52 AM

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-09-2011, 04:35 AM Thread Starter

Ouch, that is rough on a rebuild kit. Any other options for the transmissions? T5 or T45 maybe? I know that some fab work would be in order for the shifter and converting from the cable system to the hydraulic.
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-09-2011, 11:47 AM
Seasoned PostWhore

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC316 View Post