Drivetrain vibration? SC guys help - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-2004, 12:51 PM Thread Starter

Drivetrain vibration? SC guys help

Hello, i am new to this SC drivetrain. I just purchaced a 95 SC auto with 64,000 miles on the clock and am experiencing a vibration.

As far as looking under the hood, I would be able to notice nothing. I first suspected the tires, but they are perfectly balanced. Then I thought may be the driveshaft, but it is so damn inconsistant.

Then I searched and found people are having problems with the harmonic balancers or vibration dampeners on these cars. So how can I narrow down my search for the problem? I noticed that the engine idles perfectly at the intended RPM, yet there is a shaking like a miss, or maybe I had a cam, or something.

The ideling vibration makes me thin that it may be the balancer. These things are damn expensive aftermarket or OEm, and I really dont have the 250-360 to replace it right now. Would it be ok to drive the car loke it is for a while? What kind of things can happen when it vibrates, and or gives?

Thanks for your help.

aaron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-2004, 02:43 PM
5th Gear Poster

Send a message via AIM to T-bird4vr
I don't know about the HB. Some else can post on that.

If there is a miss, I would check spark plugs and wires or just change them.
If there is a plug burnt you better do a compression check. Start with cylinder#3. It is the easiest to get at and probably the first one to go.

Julian

twin screw sc
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-2004, 10:06 PM
4th Gear Poster

Send a message via AIM to BlownMerc