Exhaust Question - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 02:46 PM Thread Starter
4th Gear Poster

Exhaust Question

ok so I am planning on getting my exhaust done here soon, I am getting all new high flow cats, 2.25" pipes and magnaflow mufflers, Although I am considering deleting the third cat but I don't know if it would cause emissions issues. No resonator of course as I am told that it just makes back pressure. My problem is I was told by a shop that these cars came from the factory with 2.25" pipes. Now I am not a certified mechanic but I do know a few things. That just sounds like BS to me. But that does make me interested in what the stock size was. Anyone know? Also let me know what you think about my exhaust before I get it, wanna make sure I am getting the best set up.

Thunderbird Family -
93 Thunderbird LX V8 Mods:Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46, Blaupunkt GT Speakers, Blaupunkt 12" Sub, K&N Intake, Taurus Cupholder, MSD Cap, Rotor, Coil, and Wires, Bosch Super Copper Spark Plugs, Bosch Battery, 93 SC Rims W/Fuzion Tires
87 Thunderbird Sport V8 Mods:Blaupunkt Bahamas MP46, Blaupunkt GT Speakers, MSD Cap and Rotor, Autolite Platinum Spark Plugs, Bosch Battery
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 03:39 PM

I believe that the stock size is 2.25" before going into a single 2.5" pipe. Removal of the third cat won't cause you to fail emissions unless your engine isn't running right and it was taking up the slack of the first 2. I passed smog in CA with only the front 2, and the readings for HC, CO, and NO were almost zero.

--Chris

DirtyDog Torque Converter For Sale!!
Huge Parts Sale!!

1996 Thunderbird LX
Awaiting some tender deconstruction...
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
4th Gear Poster