Exhaust options? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2014, 12:27 AM Thread Starter
2nd Gear Poster

Garage
Exhaust options?

So I have done some searching on exhaust setups and the different options available to me as far as piping and mufflers, etc... I have a basic sound in mind I would like to get as close to as I can, but I don't have time to listen to every exhaust clip on the forums. I am also totally new to exhaust work, and only understand the basics like how Cat's restrict the flow quite a bit.

I have a 1994 Cougar XR7 with the 4.6L 2v, and stock exhaust. Has enough "bark" to turn heads when I pass someone and get it up to the 3000-4500rpm range, but not much else. I am so blown away by all the different options out there though and don't know where to start.

I don't know where to start other than some basic ideas I have looked at and hope to achieve.

I researched dual straight pipes on the forum, but heard there is an unpleasant drone at higher speeds. Is this more of a "ricer fart can" drone, or more of the drone I hear when I ride my step dad's stock Honda Shadow 750 motorcycle?

If the drone is more "fart canned" sounding, I would likely go for a muffler set up with mandrel piping. I like the online sound of the Dynomax Race Bullet muffler, are they decent sounding? The Super Turbo mufflers sounded to hollow or "v6" sounding to me compared to the Race Bullet.

In short, I want a good deep V8 rumble, almost "Hot Rod" sounding, and enough to let the neighbors know I am around. I'd also like to set off a few car alarms if I feel the need lol

Comment away guys, I will check back tomorrow afternoon and see what everyone has to say, and thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-14-2014, 04:56 AM
PostWhore

My exhaust is bone stock. Really, really quite. I wouldn't mind hearing my V8.