H or X... again... - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Veteran Poster

H or X... again...

Hi, i've been on the board for about a good half an hour searching around for some answers. But i'm looking for some more solid opinions and personal expriences. Now from my personal experience x-pipes tend to be a little more raspy and crackly, while h pipes seems to be more throaty and deeper. However, i have no experience with how birds sound with a h or a x. So i would like to know what are the different benefits from an X or an H on a 4.6 bird. Also... i have true dual exhaust from the downtubes (2 1/4") and i have recently put on some exhaust cut outs (flange type) towards the rear of the car, just after the diff pumpkin. Obviously with this it has made the car MUCH louder and also very crackly and poppy. In my opinion i like V8's to be raspy, almost sound like a ricer but much deeper. I like this.... However, running no mufflers has made the exhaust ridiculously raspy, and i would like to make this deeper and have more tone, without quieting the exhaust down considerably... Anyone with personal experience, can you please help? Thanks guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 10:41 PM

Well i can say with the setup i have now it sounds good not to raspy. I have a DI/DO magnaflow muffler midmounted, When i bought my tbird it had an H-pipe with dynomax mufflers in the rear and was somewhat raspy to so i think it depends on the setup of the muffler or mufflers and your personal preference. I personally luv my new setup and probably wouldnt go back to an h-pipe, but thats me. Good luck

-Matt-
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Veteran Poster

Ok... well i currently am running no mufflers, just dumping from the 2 1/4 pipes at the diff pumpkin... So yeh... I guess i'm in a bit of a different situation... ahh decisions decisions.