To turbo or not to turbo? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-20-2004, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
PostWhore

To turbo or not to turbo?

Since I'm soon to be married and already live by a meager income, my dream of turbocharging my 5.0 Cougar has only the slightest chance of becoming reality. But nevertheless my fascination with forced induction using the inherent efficiency of an exhaust driven turbine has remained strong. Maybe it was all of the WWII combat aircraft I studied and daydreamed about, just the thought of a P-51 Mustang producing 1200+ supercharged HP from a Merlin V-12! Or it could have been the 2.3 turbo model kit I put together, a 1/4 scale representation of the popular Ford engine that motivated the SVO mustang's and Turbocoupe. Or possibly it was the T-bird SC I owned long enough to wet my appetite, just to think that little compressor spool on top and a mess of intercooler tubes could turn a mundane V-6 into a torque monster. More than likely, it is all of that history, plus my never ending thirst for perfection of efficiency, liberal application of useful technology and unfathomable power.

Now that I have the background out of the way, on to the questions I have for all of you experts…. Can a turbo be installed on a budget (ie: my just above poverty level income)? With all of the technical concerns, like matching the right turbo for the right application, engine size, etc, can the planning work be done by a rookie with no prior experience and no money for margin of error? And can a turbo be installed with a somewhat aesthetic appearance without the aid of expensive equipment or the experience of a gifted craftsman (neither of which I have access to)?