turbocharge? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

Arrow turbocharge?

I have a 1994 Thunderbird with the N/A 3.8L engine. Can it be turbo charged for less than a fortune? Can I get a turbocharger off some other car to use on mine? Sorry if I sound ignorant I am a newbie to the bone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2006, 07:20 AM
3rd Gear Poster

Send a message via AIM to Adam B.
I'm not entirely sure, but from what I've heard you can use a turbo off of a turbo coupe. You would also have to have a header that would allow you to bolt on the turbocharger.

Stuff goes here.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2006, 12:45 PM
1st Gear Poster

I won't be one of those search nazi's..however you could have searched before you posted this

In short, sure it can be done..but it is not really worth while to do it to a 3.8NA.

The internals are not made for it, nor is the exhaust or anything else. Many folks will tell you to just drop the 3.8NA and buy a SC or TC. Personally I am ripping my 3.8 out and putting a 5.0 in(which is more work than anyone will ever know)

Tim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2006, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

oh I am sure. I have done swaps before although it was just a 355 into a Camaro, I cant imagine how much work this will be. I think that is most likely going to be the route I take.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-07-2006, 07:19 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to Tx_Cat Send a message via MSN to Tx_Cat Send a message via Yahoo to Tx_Cat
Quote:
Originally Posted by verumgero
I have a 1994 Thunderbird with the N/A 3.8L engine. Can it be turbo charged for less than a fortune? Can I get a turbocharger off some other car to use on mine? Sorry if I sound ignorant I am a newbie to the bone.

Not worthth it. Save your money.