Just received free 88 Turbo Bird....trouble, though?? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-21-2003, 12:42 PM Thread Starter

Question Just received free 88 Turbo Bird....trouble, though??

Car has 132,000 miles, passengers side and front damage (all fixable, frame is not tweaked) and best of all....it was FREE. It has sat for over 2 years, but started after jumping the battery and I drove it over 70 miles home, NO problems. After I got home, I took the wife up the road and as I was accelerating hard in 2nd gear(5 speed) the throttle seemed to hang wide opened, revving like crazy. I punched the pedal, but not luck....so I hit the switch and killed it. Battery is still dead, so as I was coasting I bump started it and it was still revving like mad. I coasted into a restaurant and left it. I came back and tried to jump it with my truck, no luck. I inspected the throttle lever and cable and they SEEM to be alright. What gives??? I'm totally new to T-birds and turbos and the last 2.3 I had was in my Mom's old Pinto. Thanks in advance......
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-05-2003, 01:55 PM

Send a message via AIM to bak24
fuel or electical?

Hey T-Boid! Glad to here you've joined us!!
I drive a 1987 TurboCoupe.

AS for the problem, it could be many many things. It could be something as simple as a fuel filter, or clogged injectors or no spark from bad wires. I would first trouble-shoot to figure out if the problem is electrical or fuel related. Check the coil wire and each cylinder for spark, and then go from there.

Good luck, and as for more help if this doesnt help at all!

PS--Check out www.turbocoupe.org (same as www.turbotbird.com) These guys are awesome and totally know everything about the cars, maintainace and performace. And, it is a website totally divoted to us TC owners. Trust me, check it out.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-23-2003, 11:14 PM

Send a message via AIM to T-Brd_CråzY