Question for people that have installed dif gears - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 03-12-2004, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to 94t-birdlx Send a message via MSN to 94t-birdlx
Question for people that have installed dif gears

I've been trying to decide whether I want to buy the pumpkin from Justin or install my own gears. I'd have to install the trac-loc and the new gears and have been reading up on it. I know that If I had to purchase everything new than I'd be way better off getting the pumpkin, but lets say I could get the trac-loc and gears for a couple hundred and install everything myself, I stand to save at least $100 when finished which is enough to motivate me to do it myself, I've had some experience in a rear end(no pun intended) and from what I have read it seems like the hardest part about doing this is setting the pinion depth. What I want to know is for those that have done this is it has difficult as it sounds?

"Technical skill is mastery of complexity while creativity is mastery of simplicity."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 03-12-2004, 02:14 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to 94 Daily Driven 4.6L
I would highly recommend getting the pumpkin if you've never set up gears before.

It is very easy to ruin a set of perfectly good gears if they aren't setup correctly.

There are a lot of things involved such as setting the contact pattern, backlash, preload on the bearings, etc... It's not just a matter of setting them in there and bolting them up. The guy who sets up my differentials usually does it about 3 times each to get it perfect. (But he's doing this for professional NHRA racing, so everything has to be perfect)

And if you don't do it yourself, then you'll be paying someone to set it up ($200) and you have to trust them to do it right.

Just my .02.

97 Lincoln Mark VIII LSC (Chip'd, 3.73 T/L... so far... )