Need help choosing tranny parts - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 03:27 AM Thread Starter

Need help choosing tranny parts

First off I am a mechanic who repairs cars for a living. I have rebuilt hundreds of stock aod's and several stock 4r70w's. My aod's forward clutches are slipping due to an over enthusiastic warmup on a cold day. I just held the pedal at 4000 rpms till the ice melted. Possibly a cross-leak or maybe the last guy who built it set the clutches too tight. It would crawl forward in nuetral if I revved the engine before but now it revs freely. Still driving it with a little chatter on takeoff. I have found a 15k mileage '98 4r70w truck core for $400 and I'm not sure what parts won't work. I plan on reusing the frictions. I am aware of the parts in the 'Motorsport wide gear kit'. My biggest concern is what shift kit to use in order to make the 1-2 and 2-3 shift occur at the right time. I've always used the Gil Younger kits in stock aod's. I'm also dead set on a non-lockup converter. If I had an 'e' model the converter clutch would be nice but the direct shaft in an aod is rubbish. I'm considering either a Dacco 2400 stall or a B&M Holeshot 2400. If anyone knows where to get a better deal on a 3 bearing 11" converter let me know. I'm a poor boy so wasting money isn't an option.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 01:36 PM
Chapter Director Coordinator

a lockup TC will allow more power when locked ya know.....

as far as tranny compatibility

http://www.tccoa.com/articles/tranny...on/index.shtml

if this is going in a 93 w/ a 5.0, 4R70W from an F150 won't bolt up... (4.6 / 5.0 bellhousing bolt patterns are different)
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2005, 01:44 PM
Boom.

If you must use a 4R70W, you can look for a 5.0 Explorer 4R70W or one from a '94-95 Mustang GT. You'll probably need a standalone controller or swap to a Mustang computer.

TCCoABAMFC - Founding Member