Towing a trailer - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 10:29 PM Thread Starter

Towing a trailer

Im a sound engineer, i just got breaking out on my own and buying a new sound system. I need to know if my car can haul around 1800 pounds of distances upto 50 miles with a turnaround time of 4-10 hours. Will the trans take it? i know NOT to tow in overdrive. If it will take the abuse is there anything else that could help the trans survive better? would a trans coolers help? if so how much are they and how hard are they to install? Thanks for the help agian guys

Jess

p.s. Oh im also planning on souping up the rear suspension to help if you guys think the trans will take it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 10:35 PM
Converter Guy

Send a message via Yahoo to dirtyd0g
These transmissions were used in trucks as well. Towing probably isn't going to make much difference on it. The weak links in that transmission aren't with pulling weight.
Alan

DirtyDog Performance.Com
Proud sponsor of the SC/XR7 Shootout and Joel Bender Memorial Nats

Please do not send me messages on forums they are too hard to keep up with and I don't check in very often anymore call me at 513 898-1580 or email me alan at dirtydogperformance.com
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 11:33 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Add a cooler to it, get some of the air lift bags that go in the coil springs, make sure you load the trailer well if it is a single axle with about 170-200 pounds of tongue weight. It is rated for towing 2,000 pounds.

The tranny cooler is pretty easy to install. You can bypass the heat exchanger already in the radiator or put the external cooler after the heat exchanger and use both. Also you need to get an isolation style wiring harness that uses a seperate power source and just uses the lights as triggers.

--
97 Mark VIII LSC/Silver/Gray leather