TCCoA Forums banner

Gear Vendors Under/over?

5K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  racecougar 
#1 ·
So I've accepted the wisdom that gearing will gain me the most performance boost for the dollar. I know the 4.11's really wake the car up along with a good torque converter and a better driveshaft. However, as I am using my Thunderbird as a daily driver, I really don't want to lose mileage, particularly on the highway.

So has anyone ever used one of the gear vendor 2speed transfer cases? It's my understanding that they are a significant ratio drop, allowing you to either split each gear (a little overkill in my opinion) or just give you a second overdrive in top gear.

So, what are the pros and cons? Anyone have any experience with them? Gotten one under the car? I did a search and came up with a 7 year old thread... didn't give any real info though.

Thanks!

#3 ·
Anyone got any ideas about it?

Not really a diffie, it's a 2 speed transfer case more so, but I don't mind where it is, so I won't complain.

I mostly want to know if anyone's used one, what experience they have with them, etc? My thinking is add that and a TrackLoc 4.11, run with the straight gears, then engage the second over on the highway. Should get better overall mileage I'd guess (as long as I keep my foot out of it anyway).

#6 ·