Recommendations - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

Recommendations

Going to get the 189 Saleen speedstars from the Custom Wheel Shop. What I would like to know is what tire size works the best with minimal/no rub AND what are the best manufacturers?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 09:31 AM
PostWhore

Well, what are you looking for in a tire? And when you say "the best manufacturers", what do you mean specifically? The best for snow, all season, family car tires, street legal slicks? Then, there's also your budget. How much are you willing to spend on a tire BEFORE installation and other fees a tire shop will charge you. I'm no tire expert, but these are important things to know for whomever will answer your question on tires.

'97 Bird, "Pearl": L/R 2.5in Magnaflow Hi-Flow CATs | PI Intake & PI Cams | Suspension Rebuild

'13 Taurus, "The Bull": 3.5L Goodness

'00 2dr v6 Accord, "Dirty Girl": Magnaflow Hi-Flow CAT | Greddy SP2 CAT-Back | Eibach ProKit springs | Eibach F/R Sway Bars | KYB-GR2 struts
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

I work in a tire shop, so I will do the mounting and balancing.
For tire style, it's going to be more street and strip.
For make/manufacturers, I wasn't sure if there is better quality tire from one to another
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 01:01 PM
PostWhore

Garage
Are your original tires 225/60/16? If so, 245/45/18 are the closest match, at 26.7" Outside diameter vs 26.6". The wheels from Custom Wheel Shop (and Supercoupe Performance) have 36mm offset, so they won't rub.

I'm running 255/40/18 on my wheels (with 35mm offset) and have no rubbing issues, but I'm only 26" Outside Diameter, and only slightly wider.