TCCoA Forums banner

No Reverse

1K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Josh_Keady 
#1 ·
Hey there, I just bought a 1985 Cougar yesterday. I knew it had a few problems, hopefully one of you guys can help me fix one of them. The car does not reverse. When shifted into reverse, it shifts properly but the engine just revs when gas is applied.
I've been told it might be a linkage problem, but that was not a sure bet. If linkage is however the problem, how do I fix that? This is really my first "project" car, so I'm a novice, and any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.:confused:

#3 ·
Welcome to the forums, Carla.

I did a very quick search here about no reverse (using No AND reverse as the search terms/parameters), and located a few posts that seem to agree about the linkage. Accoring to a Ford "Symptoms Chart," you also may want to check the transmission fluid level and color, to make sure it's ok (warm up the car for about 10 minutes, check the trans fluid level with the car level and running). The fluid should be on the dipstick, in the "hot" range, and appear a nice bright reddish color. If it's dark, the fluid should be changed. How many miles are on the car? It may be that a reverse gear component or two may be worn (servo, piston, clutch...)

I'm not well-versed in transmissions, so, someone else will probably help in posting about repairing the linkage, and what else to look for.

Good luck to you.

--Pete

#4 ·
1. Make sure the manual shift lever on the tranny is actually moving to the reverse detent in the tranny. Bad shift linkage might be holding it half-off the detent, which is bad.

2. If it is, check the tranny line pressure in reverse - the PCM should set it to around 120 psi at idle in reverse, and this should increase to over 200 as you add throttle. It will be around 65 at idle in neutral and drive. If the pressure isn't going up in reverse, the MPLS is the first thing to check.