what to think about union... - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to MadGoat Send a message via MSN to MadGoat
what to think about union...

I have some idea's I want some opinions on.

The dealership I work at is having a private union vote soon. Im new to working for a dealership let alone union anything. From what I understand from the union would take care of us employees better than our package now. But Im worried about how much it will take out of my check. As it is Im doing side jobs on top of 45 hours a week to keep money flowing correctly.

Im sure there are some of you out there that can give me some insight to this "Union or not union" matter.

any info would be great.

MG

MadGoat's Birds
94 Thunderbird LX 4.6L PI
03 Aluminum PI Engine, J-Mod, Aluminum one piece drive shaft, 3.27's, 2.5" to single 3" custom MagnaFlow exhaust, 07 17x8 Bullit Wheels
97 Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8
RIP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 09:16 PM
Seasoned Veteran Poster

IMO,

Union = unneeded bureaucracy, and lots of it.

If they unionized my job I would quite.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 09:43 PM
Administrator

I'm in a union and the only complaint I have is the $23 a month they take out of my paycheck. Because of the union I went from a $13.00/hour job to a lot more than $13 an hour... unions protect, but they also are a pain in the *** to work with.

RIP Joel Bender and Preston Smith. The world will never be the same without you.
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 10:59 PM
PostWhore

Ive had a few jobs but two that are really good comparisons are the two I worked in shipping. First was non-union; pay was decent, but the company treated everyone who worked there like ****. No benefits, mandatory OT (non-official of course) and I was in school on top of the 10 hour shifts mon-fri. Open your mouth and bye.