My exhaust - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-08-2004, 12:46 PM Thread Starter

My exhaust

Ok so I was in the muffler shop the other day and had my mufflers taken off they were kinda rusty, I had 2 blue bottle put on instead. I ended it with some chrome tips looks nice and a bit more growly for a v6. I asked them to take out the cat and make the exhaust more free flowin, the guy said "oh now way man its supercharged and it will cause problems". Is he right or did he just not want to do the work. Also can I just throw on a smaller pulley without too much engine work being done. I'm a total newb with this car. I'm used to working on little import 4 cylinders.

V6 supercharged
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-08-2004, 03:27 PM
PostWhore

Most people will tell you to open up your exhaust before you add more boost via a smaller supercharger pulley. The reason is the increase in backpressure due to the restrictive factory exhaust and more boost seems to be the leading cause for blowing headgaskets on the SC motors.
Most people on a budget port the exhaust manifolds, and then get rid of the factory exhaust for bigger pipes and either high flow cats or no cats at all. So either the guy didn't want to do the work or he has no idea about performance.
I'm sure some other SC/XR7 guys whill chime in.
BTW - have you check out www.sccoa.com?

'97 T-bird LX - 4.6L
The weekend car I never drive

'06 Mustang GT
The Daily
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-08-2004, 08:04 PM
On Probation