Rear wheel is wobbling! - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
6th Gear Poster

Rear wheel is wobbling!

I noticed today the rear outside brake caliper is rubbing the rotor so I removed the rear drivers wheel to check it out and noticed the entire wheel hub is moving (wobbling) around! There are no loose nuts or bolts either. Not sure if the bearings, CV joints or what is shot. Never serviced anything on the rear suspension and w/ 193k miles I am sure something is plain wore out. It wobbles so bad that it looks like the entire rear wheel and hub could fly off! I studied how the half shafts and the rear hub interconnect and I just cannot figure out what this could be. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 02:22 PM
6th Gear Poster

Wheel bearing! Not a hard job. You just need to pull of the rear knuckle and get a new bearing pressed in. Should be like $40 for the bearing and $20-30 to get it pressed in.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 04:40 PM
Seasoned Veteran Poster

i haed wheel wobble once and it was the rear upper control arm bushings
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 05:27 PM
Rob
Seasoned PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to Rob
I have seen those halfshaft nuts back off and cause a loose wheel. We used to see these from time to time back when I started working at the shop many years ago. I suppose tightening it back down pushes the bearing back together. If you can move the hub itself around and the knuckle is not moving while you do it, it is probably the wheel bearings.

-Rob
RIP '94 Amber Fire Pearl Metallic Thunderbird on Bullitts [email protected]
96 Sport '02 Explorer PI with ported heads, 90MM LMAF, DirtyDog Marauder TC, Lasota tune, Jmod, Magnaflow mid-mount with X, no cats. Urethane drivers motor mount. HIDs!
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 09:38 PM Thread Starter