Confused on Bushing terminology... - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-04-2011, 10:07 PM Thread Starter

Confused on Bushing terminology...

Hi guys,
I just got my 94 Thunderbird LX inspected today (gotta love VA), and was told that the Left Rear Upper Arm Bushing (Outer) and the Right Rear Upper Arm Bushing (Lower) were bad.

I've replaced the front suspension, so I'm not a complete noob, but in researching parts cost, these bushings are listed as Arm to Knuckle and Arm to Frame when shopping online.

Is the "Outer" the Arm to Knuckle, and the "Inner" the Arm to Frame? That's what I think I'm seeing in looking through old posts, but I want to be sure as the cost for getting it wrong is more than I care to throw away.

Thanks in advance for helping the slower kid in the corner.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-04-2011, 10:21 PM
Humble MN12 Genius
Super Moderator

Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to XR7-4.6
You got it right. Though "Right Rear Upper Arm Bushing (Lower)" makes no sense lol

-Matt
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-04-2011, 10:25 PM
PostWhore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brikdivit View Post
Hi guys,
I just got my 94 Thunderbird LX inspected today (gotta love VA),
Don't feel bad. We have the same crap here in the state of Misery (Missouri)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-04-2011, 10:28 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR7-4.6 View Post
You got it right. Though "Right Rear Upper Arm Bushing (Lower)" makes no sense lol
D'oh! Thanks for the quick reply and reading through my dreary eyed typing.. Should have read "Right Rear Upper Arm Bushing (Inner)"
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-05-2011, 04:29 AM
4th Gear Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOLA View Post
Don't feel bad. We have the same crap here in the state of Misery (Missouri)
Exactly! Glad I'm lucky enough to have a mechanic buddy that knows I take care of my bird and passes mine

Mike