MN12 in a 76 F100 - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-2017, 09:24 AM Thread Starter

MN12 in a 76 F100

Hello to all. I am a newbie to this site, so let me start out explaining what I am building. I am building a 1976 F100 Street Rod. I have the truck down to the bare frame and have installed a 2008 Crown Vic front end and am now working on the rear. I plan on running a 460 big block putting out around 550HP. I just bought a 1989 MN12 IRS with an 8.8 ring gear out of a SC T-bird. (I believe this was a 6 cylnd. turbo car). I am planning on running some very wide rear tires on this once complete. This will be a street car with little to no racing done with it. So with this information I have a few questions for the experts here:
1. Will this rear take this set up or will it tear up as soon as I put the power to it?
2. What recommendation do you have to beef it up. (I have been reading the tech articles on the forum and have gotten some really good info)
3. I plan on replacing all of the bushings everywhere on the rear before I install and see there are several options so I would love some recommendations given the set up I have.
4.What are the key things I need to be aware of as I take on this install.
5. Are there other parts I should plan on replacing ? Bearings, seals, hubs......

Thanks so much in advance for your help and advise!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-2017, 09:41 AM
PostWhore

Garage
Well, the 89 SC's were 6 cylinder supercharged from the factory, but you're close.

I would be more worried about your transmission than the rear end personally, and I assume you're using the entire rear subframe? If that's the case, get the good delrin bushings all over it. If it's a tracklock (not sure if all SC's were or not) and it's from an 89, it's probably a 2.73:1 rear end if it was a manual car, 3.08 I think if it was an automatic, not really sure on that.