Ball joints - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2004, 08:17 PM Thread Starter
5th Gear Poster

Ball joints

I have to change the upper ball joint on my drivers side.
Is it hard to do???
I have no experience with it at all, just thought I would do it myself for experience and to save on labor costs.

-Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2004, 08:24 PM
Administrator

plan on replacing the upper control arm, not just the ball joint. from what I have heard (i haven't done this myself yet) you will probably want to get a 18mm ratcheting wrench to aid in removing one of the bolts...

John

RIP Joel Bender and Preston Smith. The world will never be the same without you.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2004, 09:16 PM
02 Explorer Pioneer

You are correct the upper balljoints come as an assembly with the upper control arm. A 18mm ratcheting wrench would be a big help but can also be done with a non ratheting. There is a pinch bol that holds the ball joint to the spindle and two bolts that hld the upper control arm to the shock tower. The worst one is the passenger side between the tower and the firewall because the ac dryer is right there

Birdless

There is no limit to what you can acheive if you don't care who gets the credit.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-05-2004, 12:56 AM
1st Gear Poster

Yeah, it isn't difficult to do the upper arms at all, just mildly frustrating. OTOH what about these cars isn't?