Climate Control issues - TCCoA Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By T6Rocket

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2016, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

Climate Control issues

Good Evening, I have a 97 Tbird 4.6 that was sitting for a few months. The battery was weak and I had to jump start many times before I finally replaced the battery. I found out that the keyless entry system lost its programming and also noticed the fan motor running at high speed without the climate control being on. The climate control currently has no display and I already changed out the fan power controller. I checked all fuses and breakers and when I have the entire CC unit disconnected, the fan is still running high speed.
Needless to say, everything worked fine prior to the car sitting.
Can anyone give some insight into this situation as it is driving me crazy. I've been working on cars for 30 years and this has me baffled. I'm not ready to swap out the head unit as I don't think that's the problem.
Many thanks in advance for anything tossed my way
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-14-2016, 05:16 PM
PostWhore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirch912
..."changed out the fan power controller."

Do you mean the Constant Control Relay Module (CCRM)?

1995 Thunderbird LX 4.6l 97 Headlamps/Hood All Red Tails Muffler/Resonator Delete
2004 Tahoe 5.3 4x4
2008 Acadia Limited AWD

...still looking for a clean, low mileage, rust free 96/97 Thunderbird 4.6
Old 03-14-2016, 06:33 PM Thread Starter

Well I found a head unit in the junk yard and changed it out. It solved the problem but unfortunately the digital display does not light up. However, the hot and cold controls work and I'll take that until I find another working unit. I'm thinking all the jump starting i did may have blown out the unit!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-14-2016, 08:11 PM
PostWhore

Glad to hear you found the problem.

There are a number of listings for the SATC head units available on Ebay for various prices...