wide open throttle - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 05:56 AM Thread Starter

wide open throttle

newbie here once again-'95 cougar v8; at 3/4 throttle seem to get good acceleration and transmission shifting. when I floor it, it noses over, no acceleration and won't kick down. linkages seem to be hooked up correctly. could this be related to egr malfunction and/or clogged passages to intake? had a '93 linc tc that almost wouldn't accelerate at all due to egr problems. haven't checked the tps yet, but it seems to work thru most of its travel. any and all ideas out there welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 12:44 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Garage
Potentially a TPS issue - mainly because the TPS is what controls shifting behavior; shift points are set by throttle position vs. vehicle speed (or RPM when at WOT). If the PCM isn't getting the signal that you're at WOT, the shifts will be premature.

Probe the voltage at the sensor. It should be less than 1V at idle, at more than 4.5V at WOT. http://www.tccoa.com/articles/engine/tps.html

-Brandon
97 Laser Red Thunderbird LX 161k, Stage 2 4.6L 2v N/A | 300 BHP (255 RWHP, 290 RWTQ) | 13.95 @ 97.58 | Build details | Pics at the Lorain Assembly plant
98 Black Mark VIII 155k, stock daily driver
07 Redfire Fusion V6 SEL 178k, for the wife
Gone but not forgotten: 96 Mark VIII, 94 Cougar XR7, 93 Mark VIII

TCCoA's resident pilot since 2014
Once you have tasted flight, you will walk the world with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you long to return. -Leonardo da Vinci
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 01:42 PM
6th Gear Poster

Garage
On a 5.0 it's a PITA to adjust as well. Not sure on a 4.6

God created Arakis to train the faithful... One cannot go against the word of God.........
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2017, 06:04 PM
2nd Gear Poster

Garage
Quote: