97 Tbird no spark - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 09:48 PM Thread Starter

97 Tbird no spark

I have a 97 Tbird it has been running fine,cut the engine off when i went back to start it,it ran just for a few seconds and died. Now the engine cranks over but will not start. fuel pump is running injectors are pulsing,but no spark to the plugs,changed the crank sensor,still nothing anybody have any ideas i would appreciate any input. I am a newbie on here,but I have been reading on here for a few years. thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-02-2013, 11:43 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

What is the CEL doing when you have key on, engine not running, and also when you are cranking? When you have it in key on, engine not running, is the electric cooling fan always on?

The wiring to the crank sensor can also be bad.

--
97 Mark VIII LSC/Silver/Gray leather
97 Cougar 4.6 Sport/White Opalescent Tricoat Metallic /Gray leather down but not out?
89 Cougar LS 3.8/Oxford White/Gray velour/HG need replaced AGAIN
00 Grand Marquis LS/Vibrant White/Gray velour
63 Falcon 302/black and rust/shed isn't moving
82 F-150/Oxford White/dumb VV carb doesn't pass emissions
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2013, 07:07 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply,I havn't thought about the wiring going to the crank sensor. The cooling fan hasn't come on during any of this and the CEL dont work. Guess I'll go put a bulb in and check some wiring,thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2013, 08:12 AM
2nd Gear Poster

Does you car have anti-thief system from the factory. If you turn the key forward there will be a security light in the instrument cluster. If it is blinking at you, you may have bad key.
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2013, 10:12 AM
Seasoned PostWhore