4.6L Trouble Idling - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

Unhappy 4.6L Trouble Idling

Hi Guys. I'm new here and have posted in the newbie forum with an introduction. I'm not a mechanic and I am female, but I love my Cougar and have owned this car for about 10 years. I have a 97 XR7 with the 4.6L. I was wondering if maybe I describe my car's problem, I could get some suggestions as to what it might be.

My car is having some trouble idling upon starting it in the cold. It is intermittent and only does it when its cold, but not always. What happens is this, I turn my key on, everything appears to be normal, I turn her over and unless I give her some gas she will die. So what I have been doing to get her going is I hold on the gas just slightly to keep the rpms around 1000. After a few minutes of warming up, the engine makes a very soft "boof" sound and then all of a sudden she revs a bit and then idles normally. A couple of times this just hasn't worked and I let her die & restart and then after another try or two she will then start to idle.

I was having the same issue last winter, and took my car in and my mechanic could fine nothing wrong. I thought maybe it was a vacuum leak. Now I'm thinking I either have a sticky valve or maybe not firing all cylinders. I tried a can of seafoam about two weeks ago, and it doesn't seem to have helped. Other than this idling problem, the engine runs and sounds fantastic.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated and I am happy to answer any questions.

Thank you!

Refresca
1997 Cougar XR7 4.6L
166,000 miles / white opalescent tricoat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 11:07 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Look for vacuum leaks - all our cars this age have had them. Once you are sure you have no more vacuum leaks, I'd be looking at the idle speed control valve.