4Likes
  • 2 Post By XR7-4.6
  • 1 Post By XR7-4.6
  • 1 Post By MadMikeyL

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 04:49 AM Thread Starter
2nd Gear Poster

Crown vic engine swap

Upon looking in to a pi head swap for my 95, ive come to the realization that I can buy a moderately used (2008 130k) crown vic engine for half the price of everything I need to swap on to my stock engine. Ive never swapped an engine before but my dad has a shop in which im sure he could assist me with it. Is it just a drop-in and go thing or do I need other components to compliment the engine? Like ive said, im somewhat new at this so any input on the procedure and precautions would be much appreciated. At this point its still just an option but I will consider what you guy have to say.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 07:31 AM
PostWhore

None of these swaps are ever drop and go. You still will need the intake manifold and all related components, intake pipe/TB/EGR/etc for a 96-97 T-Bird, plus do all the same work you would have done with the PI swap - extend all the wires for the EGR, etc because the 95 is different.

The Crown Vic has the intake pipe on the left side, and a 2008 is drive by wire, so the intake manifold plus anything that attaches to it gets thrown away. Exhaust manifolds may even be different.

A lot of stuff to change, but I consider a PI swap on a 95 to be a lot of work.

Al

97 T-Bird LX 4.6 - 80k miles
94 Supra TT Auto - street/strip car
04 CVPI- Brenda's car - 76k miles
Previous Fords:
95 T-Bird LX 4.6 - fully optioned, owned 15 years, 220k miles
96 Cougar XR-7 4.6- Brenda's car, owned 11 years, 187k miles
88 T-Bird 3.8 - first T-Bird, owned 5 years, 206k miles
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-02-2016, 07:53 AM
Seasoned PostWhore

Garage
Send a message via AIM to MadMikeyL
Quote:
Originally Posted by T6Rocket View Post