• 1 Post By Explorerking
  • 1 Post By Explorerking
  • 1 Post By T6Rocket
  • 1 Post By XR7-4.6
  • 1 Post By XR7-4.6

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 10:45 PM Thread Starter

PI swap

Hello. I'm a newbie and I'm sure you guys have answered this 1000 times. What is the best donor car or truck for doing a PI swap on my 96 Bird? I would like to stay with Romeo so that it still looks somewhat stock but if the Windsor has a better flow or power range I could live with changing valve covers.

My car is totally stock. No mods. Low mileage survivor (96k miles) I just picked up. I got it as a donor car to make a GT clone out of my 98 6cyl Mustang I've had since 02 but this car runs and looks too good to butcher up.

Thanks in advance for any info.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 10:54 PM
Humble MN12 Genius
Super Moderator

Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to XR7-4.6
02-05 explorer is the most desirable since it has an aluminum block. All other choices are iron. F series/E seriestrucks/vans and 99-mid 01 Mustang GTs used the windsor engines while the rest were Romeo. Most common cars you'll find with them are Crown Vics/Grand Marquis, they had Romeo PI 4.6s from 2002 to the end in 2011(?)

Since you have a 96 and if your current engine is running good though, just swap in PI cams and intake. The performance will be the same as it would a complete engine. Better to keep a known entity and it saves a ton of money and work.
T6Rocket and Grog6 like this.

-Matt
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 11:14 PM
No, Mr. Lemmywinks, No!!!

Garage
I'll add: doing as said above, and getting a tune for the car will Really wake it up.

Dual exhausts and an x or H pipe will help, Mandrel bent exhaust parts can be had cheap. Sound is the biggest diff in the X vs H pipe, IMHO. I have X pipes.

Get a tune, I'd recommend Don Lasota, of Lasota racing.