4.6L won't start - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-15-2004, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear Poster

4.6L won't start

My friend has a '96 T-Bird. I went to his house the other day to fix his computer, and he said his car wouldn't start at all. I'm not very good with the 4.6s, so I'm gonna need some help with this one.

He drove the car to work on Thursday, and had no problems. He backed the car into his garage, and the car was fine when he shut it off. He said when he went out Friday morning to start it, all it would do was crank. I checked the inertia switch, and when I pressed it in, it shut the fuel pump off like it's supposed to. I pulled the button back up and the fuel pump kicked back on (you can hear it hum when you turn the key). That didn't work, so just for kicks, I disconnected the battery for 30 seconds and reconnected it (because I don't know anything about these cars and I thought it was worth a shot...lol), which didn't work either. I let it crank for a few seconds, and then I depressed the Schraeder valve and fuel came out, but not really a spray. It was more like it barely made it out of the top of it. I'm not sure what it could be, but I thought I'd ask you guys for help. I was thinking either the fuel pump was working but really weak, the fuel filter is possibly clogged, or the tank has a bunch of crap in it. His fuel guage doesn't work, but he said he put gas in it a couple days before that and he's pretty sure he filled it up. Thanks in advance.

Rick

Quote from 93sleeper: "Slow down, you guys are talking too fast. I'm trying to eat a taco!"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-15-2004, 01:42 AM
Still needs a clue

did you press the valve when the key was in the on position(so that the line was pressurized)? Naturally, change the fuel filter if it hasn't been changed. A plugged fuel filter is supposedly the #1 cause of a dead pump. Thats all I can offer for help at this moment.