Crate engine or used/refurbished? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 04:42 PM Thread Starter

Crate engine or used/refurbished?

Im looking to do an engine swap with my 93 Tbird (stock v6 3.8 L) and was wondering if you guys would recommend a new crate engine that il have to piece mail the little parts after I Get it? Or should I go about finding a refurbished engine and just use that? I want about 300 HP (at least) at the wheels and something that looks half decent, but il be driving 100 miles between home and college so i need something reliable. Thanks for any advice!
Ps. I would be having a shop do all the work bc i have very little experience and no means to do this myself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 04:46 PM
PostWhore
The AFDB is on a lil tight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew93 Tbird View Post
Im looking to do an engine swap with my 93 Tbird (stock v6 3.8 L) and was wondering if you guys would recommend a new crate engine that il have to piece mail the little parts after I Get it? Or should I go about finding a refurbished engine and just use that? I want about 300 HP (at least) at the wheels and something that looks half decent, but il be driving 100 miles between home and college so i need something reliable. Thanks for any advice!
Ps. I would be having a shop do all the work bc i have very little experience and no means to do this myself.
Get a 351 or a built 5.0. Basically the 5.0 is the best choice because it came in the car and is obd1 and getting 300 at the wheels is possible. Just my thoughts.

Spinning pies like wheels.

DD driving my 20 year old project

Now with new ball joints...again
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 05:37 PM
Seasoned PostWhore