3.8 out 5.0 in - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-17-2002, 09:19 PM Thread Starter

Question 3.8 out 5.0 in

My 3.8 is finally ready to leave the car .I am getting tired of refilling my rad.My white 94 Cougar XR7 wants another engine.A buddy has a 5.0 litre with about 200,000 clicks on it,I think he said it was 89 ???,fuel injection.Will it fit?is it worth it to me to drop it in or fix the 3.8?I have been driving the car for almost 3 years and have been on CCOA BBS with a few problems and every time I received the correct advice and followed it,and by the way thanks.So,do I swap or fix....I'm getting a headache...lol.

thanks again Doug
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-17-2002, 11:49 PM
13's or Mildly Broken

If you can afford it, you want to do it, and have the access, I say go ahead. If your current engine is giving you a bad time, yank it out and go for the newer one.

Second - if it's a 5.0 and came from a T-Bird, then it wouldn't be 89. Would be 91-93. V8's were available 89/90.

By all means - leap from the V6 and go V8 if that's what you want. If I had the opportunity to do so, I would. the 3.8 N/A is a dog unless you've got some money or determination *points to RancherLee*

-Andy "Melon"

1994 Thunderbird SC 3.8L Supercharged
1999 Crown Victoria P71 4.6
2000 Explorer 5.0
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2002, 06:08 PM
5th Gear Poster

Go for the 5.0 but with that many miles rebuild and add some go fast parts. There are so many parts available for that engine.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-21-2002, 04:27 PM

You might want to go with the v8 that is correct for that year. Not sure what state you live in, but if it is a 94 merc, then you would want at least a 94 engine for smog purposes. Not sure bout the mercs, but the 4.6 liter was offered for 94, not the 5.0. Would hate to see you do all that mod work to get turned down at the smog station.