got a wierd stalling problem ??? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 01:41 PM Thread Starter

got a wierd stalling problem ???

well i just bought a 89 tbird with the 3.8 , yesterday it was running fine and driving perfectly , today i did wash the engine and the rest of the car , now when i drive it it stalls alot , when i start it up it starts really hard , which i think might be the battery , but when i put it i nreverse and give it gas it stalls out and makes a weird noise. so i start it back up give it a little gas and it kind of sputters and stalls. im not very good with engines so id like your help , thanks alot guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 04:00 PM Thread Starter

wow , no help ? i think i may have fixed it by tightening up the battery terminal things , now i think the battery fried , stupid energizer , shoud i get an optima ?
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

ahhhhhhhhhhh , i just replaced the battery terminals because the other ones were coroded so badly , but the car still starts hard and it kind of makes a thump sound , then shakes some more then starts , when it idles its idling fine but when u give it gas it sputters once in a while and stalls out. my grandfather suggets a tune up and a new starter , what do you all think ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 06:09 PM Thread Starter

please help me ?
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-24-2005, 08:51 PM Thread Starter

wow , a whole day and still no help , well i been tinkerin with the car , i let it sit for a few hours , and its cold out , now i just went outside to show my gf and the car fired right up and did not sputter or stall , its like it was yesterday , whats up with it ? thanks
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-25-2005, 02:21 PM

You probably got the electronics wet. Let it dry out for a while in the sun and see how it runs after that.