Well checked my oil today... - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2007, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
3rd Gear Poster

Well checked my oil today...

I checked my oil today after I got home from school (Lincoln Tech) and noticed it was a little low so I added a bit, went in the house to give oil time to sink down, after I came out and checked it, it was at a good level BUT I noticed this tanish snot like stuff with the oil... It wasn't a LOT but enough to get my attention and my concern.. right away I think the worse, headgaskets.. but the car idles so smoothe, runs so smoothe, no white smoke or ANY other symptoms but this tan colored snot stuff is freakin me out a little.. The first time I checked it and noticed it was low i did not see any on the stick.. just when I added some.. I noticed too that inside my oil cap was the same tan gunk.. What else can it be besides head gaskets?? I was hoping this motor would be good to me until I graduated and got the funds to drop in an MN12 5.0..... Thanks in advance

1991 Cougar LS BlueMax

Current MODs:
Removed Air Silencer
K&N Filter
70mm MAF
9mm Ford Racing Wires

Future MODs:
5.0 Swap
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-30-2007, 03:25 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Sounds like water in the oil. While there are many causes of that, it simply could be condensation or so odd reason for water to get in there, I would be getting ready to put some head gaskets on a 3.8.

There are many ways for the head gaskets to fail. I didn't get water/oil mixing I got excess combustion gases in the cooling system and water in a cylinder (but not enough to sit and go past the rings into the crankcase). The car I ALMOST bought had no overheating, no low compression on any cylinders, no steam, but a milkshake in the crankcase.

--
97 Mark VIII LSC/Silver/Gray leather
97 Cougar 4.6 Sport/White Opalescent Tricoat Metallic /Gray leather down but not out?