4r70w/4r75w transmission cooler limits - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-28-2011, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
Seasoned PostWhore

Send a message via AIM to Chris_Murder
4r70w/4r75w transmission cooler limits

Since I'm a resident of Las Vegas and our summers are 115+ degrees heat will obviously always be an issue and fear. During my upcoming transmission build and replacement per Alan's suggestion as well as many others I opted for the biggest and baddest transmission cooler I could find, the tru-cool max 4739-1 40,000 gvw 45,000 btu transmission cooler without thermal bypass since we see 32 degrees 2 or 3 days a year and I don't mind waiting for the car to warm up before use. Also as per Alan and my tuners recommendations I'll be using it as a stand alone unit to benefit the transmission temperature as well as isolating the coolant system.

My question is what should the transmission temperature be at or near after the swap with this cooler, DirtyDog high stall marauder torque converter, and my horrible ambient summer temperatures?

Also is there ever a point where this cooler just plain isn't up to the task? Or where you'd need something even bigger or need to add fans to this unit?

On the opposite end of the spectrum is there a certain temperature where these transmissions should not be, as in running too cold, like never reaching operating temperature?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

-1996 Pearl White Thunderbird 4.6 Sport 4v with many mods:
Current Best: 13.583 @ 103.74 10/2014.
227hp/241tq measured on calibrated mustang dyno, tested at full vehicle simulation with inertia enabled, no number skewing.
-2001 White Ford F-250 Super Duty 6.8 V10, 4-door, 4x4, Limo Tint, BFG KO2's, Bilstein 7100 Remote Reservoir Race Bypass Shocks, 6" Spring lift, Kenwood Double Din, K&N Intake, FlowMaster Exhaust
Amber_Murder's Daily Driver.