Leaky Trans Cooler Lines Near Radiator - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 02:43 AM Thread Starter

Leaky Trans Cooler Lines Near Radiator

I recently had a leak in my radiator. I'm not very good at repairing cars myself, so it took the Thunderbird to the shop to have it replaced. After a week, it started leaking transmission fluid from the trans cooler lines where they connect into the radiator. I took it back, they tightened the lines, and everything was okay.

It's now leaking again, and I'll take it back to have it worked on again. What I'm wondering is what they did wrong? Browsing around Rock Auto, I noticed oil cooler O-rings and think maybe they reused them. I just want this fixed - is there anything I should mention to them or look at myself? Is this something I could possibly do myself?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 03:03 AM
MA Chapter Director

Administrator

Garage
Maybe there's a problem with the radiator.

Joe

It's not a 97 Sport, it just looks like one!

Mass. TCCoAers, Send me your info!

I buy all my Ford parts from 93 lx.

Member of the TCCoA Damage Control Team.

R.I.P. Johnny Langton 1975 - 2011
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 06:12 AM
Seasoned PostWhore
Super Moderator

Garage
There are no o-rings, they are flare connections.

-Brandon
97 Laser Red Thunderbird LX 162k, Stage 2 4.6L 2v N/A | 300 BHP (255 RWHP, 290 RWTQ) | 13.95 @ 97.58 | Build details | Pics at the Lorain Assembly plant
98 Black Mark VIII 160k, stock daily driver
07 Redfire Fusion V6 SEL 178k, for the wife
Gone but not forgotten: 96 Mark VIII, 94 Cougar XR7, 93 Mark VIII

TCCoA's resident pilot since 2014
Once you have tasted flight, you will walk the world with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you long to return. -Leonardo da Vinci
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 09:46 AM
6th Gear Poster

Exclamation