1995 Transmission question - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-2014, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
4th Gear Poster

Arrow 1995 Transmission question

The T-Bird we bought is a 1995 LX 40th Anniversary Edition. It just now turned 30,600 actual miles.

I am considering having the fluid, filter, and gasket changed.

I want to know the EXACT fluid, NOW recommended. Was it Mercron V ??

Is this a "stock fluid at a dealership" ?

I may add another magnet to the pan, just for my peace of mind. (Magnets are cheap).

I am also guessing to have the torque convertor drained. (OR is that part of the service)?

Is there a specific "brand" of filter, or just use a Motorcraft filter?

What else am I missing?

OH, "what" do additive do I get for help eliminating transmission shudder?

SORRY, to be so dumb, but I'm NOT a mechanic?

Thanx !!!!!!!!!!

Just want to get it right !!!!

Last edited by Tweety Bird; 02-26-2014 at 12:55 PM. Reason: Forgot a statement
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-2014, 01:14 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Garage
Mercon V. Make sure they drop the pan, clean the magnet, replace the filter, and drain the torque converter. Many shops stick a tube down the dipstick which sucks out the old fluid and pumps in the new fluid, which in reality gives you a diluted mix of old and new fluid with a dirty filter and magnet.

There's no need to replace the pan gasket unless it's torn or already leaking. It's a lifetime reusable metal and rubber gasket. You will probably want to upgrade to the deep sump pan and filter though, this helps prevent starvation on right turns.