Tranny Issues Please Help! - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-27-2015, 11:24 PM Thread Starter
2nd Gear Poster

Tranny Issues Please Help!

Good Day Everyone,

I am having some serious issue with my 4r70w transmission and im hoping some of you all can shed some light on the subject.

The incident: Immediately after driving at WOT I came to a stop, as i began to take off again, I hit the gas as usual but only this time the car does not move. But oddly when i raised the rpm up to about 3500 the transmission slammed into gear spinning the tires.

It appeared to me as if it were slipping but only at low rpm. I have full and normal operation of reverse but in order to move forward i have to rev the engine continually.

Because I am a needy college student i decided to attempt a rebuild my self. I took the transmission apart and inspected everything to the best of my ability and noticed only the forward clutches were toasted. So I changed all clutches and seal and what not and re installed. I havent gotten the chance to put it on the road but from what i can tell, its still doing the same thing. And the reason I say that is because it takes forever for it to actually go into drive from the time i move the shifter.

Anybody with any knowledge on the subject matter please feel free to enlighten me. Ive been 2 months with out my car.

Thanks ,

Vechicle info:
1995 4.6 tbird
97 crown vic tranny
300 hp + gears jmod
and new accumulators and springs

1995 Tbird 4.6 sohc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2015, 07:53 AM
3rd Gear Poster

does it still have reverse? Have you checked the fluid level after letting the car run for a few minutes?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-28-2015, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
2nd Gear Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by MangBangers View Post
does it still have reverse? Have you checked the fluid level after letting the car run for a few minutes?