4R70W from 93 Mark - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-05-2005, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
4th Gear Poster

4R70W from 93 Mark

There is this 93 Mark that I am going to go and take a look at. Owner is stating that it slips in 3rd. I know that there were some issues with some electrical components in the early 4R70W's could one of those cause such a problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 08:14 PM

I'm far from an expert, but I've experienced the death throes of the 4R70W, and slipping in third is one of the symptoms. That was the first year of the 4R70W; I believe it's the same transmission as the 94-95 4R's, which means that it's a piece of junk. If you can get a good deal on the Mark, I'd say go for it, then when the tranny dies, just replace it with a '99 and up 4R from a Mustang, Crown Vic (non-police), Grand Marquis, Marauder, Town Car, etc. The newer trannies are far more reliable and there's only a few simple modifications you need to do in order for it to work on the '93.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 08:21 PM
Converter Guy

Send a message via Yahoo to dirtyd0g
I'll give ya $50 for the output shaft the rest is scrap.

DirtyDog Performance.Com
Proud sponsor of the SC/XR7 Shootout and Joel Bender Memorial Nats

Please do not send me messages on forums they are too hard to keep up with and I don't check in very often anymore call me at 513 898-1580 or email me alan at dirtydogperformance.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-06-2005, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
4th Gear Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by SloMo228