95 AODE in a turbocharged 5.0, 4r70w upgrade path. Questions, need realistic advice. - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-2006, 03:56 PM Thread Starter

95 AODE in a turbocharged 5.0, 4r70w upgrade path. Questions, need realistic advice.

I have a 1995 Mustang street/strip car that I've turbo charged with an AODE. I've been running it for a couple years with a Baumann shift kit and a PI converter. It dyno's at 450 hp and 480 tq at 11.50 in the 1/4 mile and I believe that the tranny is slipping/holding me back. I use a Tweecer RT to tune.

I'd appreciate it if some of you tranny guys can help me decide some things. Yes, I have read all the tech articles about 4r70w etc... as I've been contemplating this for a while.

My goal is to launch on a transbrake and run mid 10's. I'd like to keep the overdrive/lockup. My goal is to stay under $2000 with me rebuilding the tranny with a manual VB and Tbrake with rebuilding my PI converter. If it is going to cost me more than $2000 in additional expense, then I'll just go with a C4 and sell my converter.

>Can I rebuild this AODE myself + buy a manual tranbrake VB + rebuild my PI converter (probably a couple hundred) for under 2K?
>Can I rebuild my AODE with some additional guts from a a 2002'ish 4r70w and have something that will last?
>Can a full manual VB be run on the street and not cause the tranny to wear out due to fixed line pressure?
>If I can't find/afford the best 4r70w for the rebuild and can only afford a 3.8 one, is it even worth doing? just forget it and go to c4?
>Is the Lentech manual VB with Tbrake worth $729 or should I go with the cheaper PA VB with Tbrake?
>Does anyone sell an AODE/4r70w that would hold up for around $1200 outright?