4r70w pressure taps marking? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2006, 09:12 AM Thread Starter

Question 4r70w pressure taps marking?

Just need some clarification about marking of the pressure taps on the 4r70w. Well some I can figure out for my self but a complete list would be great so any doubts can be eliminated. Some one can certainly help me out as I’m a novice in 4r70w troubleshooting.

Drivers side: Line = Line Pressure?
Passengers side: Direct = ?, FWD = Forward Clutch?, TV = Throttle…?(EPC pressure??), INTER = ?

I’ve searched this forum and on the web but I can’t find any complete explanation of the abbreviations. In the “4R70W Rebuild Checklist” (http://www.mn12performance.com/mn12-...w_rebuild.html) it´s stated that the pressure taps are “clearly MARKED right on the case on AODE's & 4R70W's” and how to measure between taps to check for leakages in the trans. This is what I’m about to do in my slippery trans. now equipped with a J-mod -99 valve body. Before I had a neck-breaking transgo kit witch worked well except for the very, very firm shifts. And yes I didn’t change the epc-solenoid so now I’m trying to troubleshoot it with gauges in the tranny to see if it’s fully operational. Have also logged the tranny with my XC2 but I don’t really know what to look for so some help in that subject is also welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-04-2006, 08:20 AM Thread Starter

Tank’s for all support and answers I’ve gained in this thread! Well I’ve now cleared this one my self, I think?

Drivers side: LINE = Line Pressure
Passengers side: Direct = Direct Clutch, FWD = Forward Clutch, TV = EPC solenoid pressure (Electronic Pressure Control), INTER = Intermediate Clutch

What TV stands for I haven’t figured out jet but the Ford Original Line Pressure Test procedure for 1994 Thunderbird states that EPC tap is the one in the “middle” with a clarifying picture of the location.