TCCoA Forums banner

AOD died on my 5.0l LX

6K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  quickford 
#1 ·
Hi, I think my transmission is completely shot. I have no reverse and neutral anymore.

It all started after 1st gear began to slip. I replaced the fluid and it really smelled burned. Because I have no experience with automatic gearboxes what so ever, I search on this forum for a solution. It seemed like Lucas Transmission Fix might help, but that the transmission would be on borrowed time from thereon anyway.
So I went to the store to get a bottle. Unfortunately no one sells it here in Europe. I should have just ordered it online, instead I let myself talk into buying Nulon Transmission Improver. Needless to say it was not a succes. The transmission started to shudder between first and second gear. Not what I wanted but it did something at least. I figured some of the passages or valves were getting unclogged and it just needed some time to do it's job. It only got worse instead, to the point that the TV-cable broke off the lever on the throttle body due to the shudder, with the aforementioned result.

Now I need a new transmission or rebuild this one. Does anyone know what it would cost to rebuild it myself, including upgraded parts and a shift kit?
I can get a second hand one for 400€, but I'm planning on turboing the engine, so it will probably not last long as well.

I'm really tempted to do a 5-speed or 6-speed MT conversion at this point. Unfortunately all the usual gearboxes to do the swap with are very hard to come by here.
I can get a old Getrag 265 for the same price as the AOD, which I know can handle the intended torque. It has a separate bell housing and I believe it even has the same input shaft spline as a mustang T5. The drive shaft will have to be altered anyway, so the output shaft is not that important to me.