7.5 IRS Limited Slip - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 08-11-2010, 08:16 PM Thread Starter

7.5 IRS Limited Slip

I apologize if this is basic knowledge, I'm very new to Thunderbirds, so please forgive me. I've been hunting around for some information on a 7.5" IRS differential. I'm very interested in acquiring a limited slip version of this and I can't seem to find hard facts about what model of t-bird, cougar or mark viii (maybe there's even more!?) would have a 7.5" IRS limited slip differential (traction lock). As far as I can find, it would be a 3.8 LX??? Are there more?

With a little searching around here I've found that solid axle diff's cannot work in an IRS setup because there is no groove in the side gears for the half-shaft c-clip to latch onto. Correct?

My end goal is to either buy or piece together a full pumpkin/carrier assembly with the following specs: 7.5", IRS, limited slip, 3.08:1 gears. If anybody knows of somebody that's selling a differential like this/close to this or, better yet, a full carrier with all this installed I'd really appreciate it! (new member, can't post in the marketplace without a certain # of posts ).

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Last edited by foxk56; 08-11-2010 at 09:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 08-11-2010, 09:42 PM
Kind of slapped together

Really, really silly question.

Why not the 8.8"?

I ask because my local U-Pull-Its have two 3.08 TLs and four 3.08 opens just awaiting someone to pull them and lay down $45 (yes, $45 for the open or the TL .. )

The 7.5 is the same price, but at least in 1991 (the year I have the factory service manual for), they don't list a TL 7.5. That is, TL was only in 8.8, 7.5 was always open.

If it must be a 7.5, then the 7.5 for most years was a normally aspirated (not-supercharged) 3.8 . The supercharged 3.8s got either, and the V8s always got 8.8s.

Open and TL was another matter ...

RwP