Gear Vendors Under/over? - TCCoA Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
PostWhore

Garage
Gear Vendors Under/over?

So I've accepted the wisdom that gearing will gain me the most performance boost for the dollar. I know the 4.11's really wake the car up along with a good torque converter and a better driveshaft. However, as I am using my Thunderbird as a daily driver, I really don't want to lose mileage, particularly on the highway.

So has anyone ever used one of the gear vendor 2speed transfer cases? It's my understanding that they are a significant ratio drop, allowing you to either split each gear (a little overkill in my opinion) or just give you a second overdrive in top gear.

So, what are the pros and cons? Anyone have any experience with them? Gotten one under the car? I did a search and came up with a 7 year old thread... didn't give any real info though.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 09:32 AM
Chapter Director Coordinator

moved to diffies

I bust ARP bolts by hand...

If Guns kill people, then...
...pencils miss spel werds
...cars make people drive drunk
...spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat
~Gun Owners of America
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-22-2010, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
PostWhore

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesD View Post
moved to diffies
Anyone got any ideas about it?

Not really a diffie, it's a 2 speed transfer case more so, but I don't mind where it is, so I won't complain.

I mostly want to know if anyone's used one, what experience they have with them, etc? My thinking is add that and a TrackLoc 4.11, run with the straight gears, then engage the second over on the highway. Should get better overall mileage I'd guess (as long as I keep my foot out of it anyway).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-22-2010, 09:22 PM
Seasoned PostWhore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodman View Post